Skip to main content

Change in Canberra Racing Club Committee

Paul Miller has announced his retirement from the Committee of the Canberra Racing Club effective from the Committee Meeting of Tuesday 23 June 2020.
Paul has served the Committee and the Club with distinction since his initial election to the Committee in November 2012. During his 7 ½ years Paul has brought significant wagering and racing knowledge to the Club.
“We thank Paul for his contribution to Canberra Racing Club. Paul’s involvement in the broader racing industry included his role as an ACTTAB executive for 10 years, General Manager of a sports betting company, the development of software for racing applications in addition to his ownership of countless horses. His involvement in the local industry spans over 40 years” said Canberra Racing Club Chairman Ian Mackay. “We will miss his wise counsel. I’m pleased that Paul has readily agreed to continue to provide his expertise on racing and wagering matters in a voluntary advisory role. I am also delighted that we have as a Committee made good on our commitment to promote youth and gender diversity in our new Committee appointment.”
In accordance with the Club’s Constitution, the Committee have appointed Lauren Bywaters to fill the casual vacancy. Lauren joins the Committee effective 24 June 2020. Lauren stood for election in 2019 and will be a welcome addition to the Committee.
“It has been a pleasure and honour to have served on this Committee. The local racing community is fortunate in having such dedicated and capable people running the Club. Congratulations to Lauren Bywaters on her appointment to the Committee. She is an excellent choice.” said outgoing Canberra Racing Club Committee Member Paul Miller.
Incoming Canberra Racing Club Committee Member Lauren Bywaters said “It is a privilege to be appointed to the Committee. Diversity can only lead to stronger outcomes for the Club and racing in Canberra. I look forward to directing the passion I have for this great sport to the continued improvement of racing in the nation's capital.”