Dryden-Collings Premiership Stranglehold

The Keith Dryden-Scott Collings partnership has streeted rival-stables in the race for the 2017-18, ACT Trainer Premiership.

Nick Olive pipped Dryden-Collings for the 2016-17 premiership — the contest going down to the last meeting.

Six months into the 2017-18 season, Dryden-Collings have delivered 21 winners on Canberra tracks, at a strike rate of one in four.

Olive — whose invariably a strong finisher — currently sits 11 winners behind (10), one ahead of the Barbara-Joseph-Paul Jones partnership.

To provide a perspective on the Dryden-Collings mid-season performance, Olive won last year’s premiership with 27 winners (at a 1-4 strike rate), just 6 wins more than Dryden-Collings’ current tally.

Despite both stables’ recent Canberra dominance, loyal punters have been richly rewarded.

In 2016-17, Olive runners recorded a 40% profit on turnover across both the Acton (synthetic) and course proper (grass).

This season, Dryden-Collings gallopers have produced a 109% POT on the Acton (two runners) and 22% on the course proper.     

In the 2017-18, ACT Jockey Premiership, Matt Cahill holds a six win lead (18) over apprentice Patrick Scorse (12) and Jay Ford (12).  

This season, Cahill has ridden 18 winners at Canberra for Dryden-Collings for a strike rate of nearly 30% and a POT of 70% — clearly the stable’s go-to hoop.