2016-17 ACT Jockey and Trainers Premierships — Tight Contests

With less than five months to go in the 2016-17 racing season, Matt Cahill leads Brendan Ward by two wins in the ACT jockey premiership.

Cahill (14) and Ward (12) just head apprentice Brock Ryan (10) with a three win gap to the next contenders.

Ryan has steadily improved his standing and is striking at 19% in the capital and has been a punters pal securing followers a 100% profit on turnover.

In the training ranks, the Nick Olive stable has found four winners in the last month and has burst to equal first on the ACT trainer’s premiership with 15 winners, joining the Keith-Dryden–Scott Collings partnership.

Matt Dale — who has had considerably fewer runners — holds down third with ten wins, with the Barbara Joseph — Paul Jones yard next on seven.

Of these, Dale heads the strike-rate standings at 26%, from Olive 24% and Dryden — Collings 19.65%.

The Ron Weston — John Nesbit partnership has recorded five wins from 19 runners this season — and share Dale’s strike rate.

Ryan clearly leads the ACT apprentice jockey premiership.

Nick Olive-trained Rhomlo has a five point lead on the Canberra Horse of the year.

Since October the gelding has recorded three wins and a placing at distances ranging from 1000m to 1400m.