Problems viewing this document? View it online at click here


Resignation of Howard Powell Appointment
of John Dess

At the June Committee meeting of the Canberra Racing Club Howard Powell tendered his resignation from Committee.

Howard held the position of Chairman from 2002 to 2006 and was Deputy Chairman for six years. He was also a Director of Racing Information Services Australia (RISA) for six years representing the Canberra Racing Club, Tasracing and Thoroughbred Racing NT, he resigned from that position in April.

The Chairman and Committee acknowledged Howard’s significant contribution and his strong leadership to the Canberra Racing Club during his 18 years tenure on Committee.

To replace Howard, Committee have appointed Mr John Dess to Committee effective 1 July 2015. John contested the election for Committee in 2014 and received the next highest number of votes after the five elected to Committee. John is a former Committee Member and a Life Member of the Albury Racing Club and is the Managing Director of Barlens Canberra/Albury.


Takeover Target

Racing enthusiasts were saddened to hear of the passing of Takeover Target.

Owned by Joe and Ben Janiak and trained in Queanbeyan by Joe, Takeover Target emerged to become a star performer around the world. He won in excess of $6 million and eight Group One races in four countries.

Takeover Target did spend a period of time being trained at Thoroughbred Park to take advantage of the synthetic Acton Track.

Takeover Target would have turned 16 years of age on August 1.


Takeover Target and trainer Joe Janiak at Kranji, picture Singapore Turf Club.



Canberra experienced an incredible 70ml of rain over a period of 3 days in July which caused havocon the roads but also with local wildlife. Whilst the rain can be somewhat welcome by the ruralareas of Canberra the effects it can have can be devastating. A recent article in the Canberra Times reported that snakes have abandoned their Winter nests to seek drier ground and their cold and wetawakening causes them a great deal of stress. It’s unfortunate to report that locally trained 2015 Sapphire Coast Horse of the Year Basilus has passed away whilst on a spell from a snake bite in the paddock. Basilus won 4 races, with 4 seconds and 2 thirds in his short career and was trained by Peter Wiggins and owned by a number of Canberra Racing Club Members and associates including Les Boag, Dawn Boag, Jennie Notaras, Manny Notaras, Gerd King, Sue King, Burl Doble, Phillipa Doble, Bob Brinkley, Nina Brinkley, Brian Beasley, Gwyneth Beasley, Naomi Pratt, Willo Vizard and Maz Vizard.


Membership Cards

Membership cards were posted on Membership cards were posted on Friday 3 July to renewed annual and 3 year members via Registered Post.

If you are a member and haven’t received your renewed or 3 year membership card for 2015/3016 please contact the Club administration on 6204 0000.

Congratulations to Ken Alexander who was present for the Members Lucky Badge draw on Sunday 5 July. Ken was the lucky winner of $1900. Our next draw will begin at $500 for the Friday 17 July race day and will increase by $100 each non-feature race day if not won.


Upcoming Race Days

Our Winter race days include the Jockeys Celebration Day on Friday 31 July. Pins are for sale at Administration for $10.

Friday 17 July – Sponsors Race Day
31 July – Jockeys Celebration Day
14 August – The Annual ALM Race Day and Trade show
28 August – Schweppes Race Day


click here to unsubscribe