Hot Bensley Presses For Jockey Premiership

The 2017-18 ACT Jockey and Trainer Premierships are again shaping as terrific contests deep into the racing season.

Matt Cahill holds a four win lead in the Jockey Premiership but is facing a stern challenge from Richard Bensley who has saluted in five of his last eight rides at Thoroughbred Park.  

Bensley has won his last three for Nick Olive — and four from his last five linking with last year’s premier trainer.

Cahill has ridden 19 winners from 87 rides, Bensley 15, from 80 rides, and are followed on the table by apprentice Patrick Scorse (14), Jay Ford (12).

The Keith Dryden-Scott Collings partnership still holds a strong lead in the Trainers Premiership but is facing the usual late ‘year’ challenge from Nick Olive.

Olive has been on fire and has now racked up 15 winners — and is currently five behind last year’s premiership runner-ups.

Dryden-Collings has had 106 runners to Olive’s 82, but retain the superior strike rate.   

The Barbara Joseph-Paul Jones partnership (11) and Gratz Vella (9) sit next best on the table and both have had fewer runners than the above.