Canberra Premierships Ding Dong Battles— Two Meetings Remaining

The ACT Jockey and Trainer premierships will go down to the wire with just with just two Canberra meetings to be run before the end of the 2016-17 racing season.

Cowra-based Matt Cahill and Canberra’s Brendan Ward will fight out the jockey title with Cahill (19) holding a two-win lead over Ward (17).

The trainer premiership is even tighter with the Keith Dryden-Scott Collings partnership (22) sitting just one win ahead of the late surging Nick Olive (21).

Matt Dale sits third on 13 Canberra winners but will have to weave plenty of magic to catch the above pair.

With the highly sought after premierships up for grabs there’s no doubt the front-running jockeys and trainers will be looking to make every post a winner.

Ward regularly rides for Olive and Dale while Cahill has a strong linkage with Dryden-Collings and it will be interesting to observe both the acceptances and the riding engagements at the two remaining meetings.

Cahill is currently sitting 5th on the 2016-17 NSW Country Jockey Premiership with 82 season wins and Ward 7th on 53.5 wins. Greg Ryan (114) and Rachael Murray (100) have spaced their jockey rivals for this title.

Dryden-Collings sit third on the NSW Country Trainer Premiership with 40 winners. Kris Lees (68) leads from Paul Perry (57).

This is double the number of country winners recorded by Dryden the previous season and demonstrates the potency of the partnership he formed with Collings.