Cahill and Olive Top Canberra Premierships

Cowra-based hoop Mathew Cahill is having a vintage season and continues to lead the Canberra Jockey Premiership.  

Cahill could only manage two placing at Sunday’s meeting in the Capital but with (8) wins holds out last year’s premiership winner Brendan Ward (7) and Jay Ford (5).  

Ward scored on Moroccan Ruby on Sunday for the Keith Dryden-Scott Collins partnership.

Blake McDougal burst onto the Apprentice Jockey Premiership table with two wins on Sunday — Precocious in the first for Matthew Smith, and Smart As in the second for Tim Martin.

Jason Devrimol has his head in front is this contest with (4) season wins.

Nick Olive heads the Trainers Premiership with (8) winners at a strike rate of 25% - closely followed by Dryden-Collins (7).  

Last year’s leading Canberra trainer Matt Dale has had a comparatively slow start to the season locally with (4) winners – but is sure to build on that over summer.