Brendan Ward and Matt Dale Head Canberra Premierships

With four months of the racing season remaining, five riders are in a position to take out the 2015— 2106 Canberra Jockey Premiership.

In a hotly contested race, Brendon Ward has his nose in front with 13 winners, followed by Jay Ford (12), Jeff Penza (11) and Matt Cahill and Kayla Nisbet (10 each).

Richard Bensley still holds down sixth on the premiership list, but is out of action recovering from a serious race fall, while next in line Josh Cartwright, has returned to South Australia.

Ford has had considerably less rides than his competitors and his strike-rate stands at an impressive 25.5%.

Penza and Ward are both striking around 15.5%.

Ward has delivered $209,700 in prize money, followed by Cahill ($212,800) and Penza ($195,600).

MATT DALE clearly leads the Trainers Premiership with 19 winners at a strike-rate of 28.8%.

Keith Dryden (11) holds a slender advantage in second spot, ahead of Barbara Joseph/Paul Jones and Nick Olive (both 9).

Luke Pepper has made strides this season with six winners saluting at a strike-rate of 20.7%.

Joseph/Jones and Dryden have clearly had the most runners at 83 and 80 respectively, followed by Dale with 66.

Dale has earned $286,850 in prize money to date, followed by Joseph/Jones ($189,000) and Dryden ($172,350).